7 Best Books For Fall Book Club Picks

September 8, 2015 5:00 AM

School is back in session and it’s time for little ones and teenagers to hit the books. And now that the kids are out of the house and the first hint of fall is in the air, grown-ups are hitting the books, too. Here are 7 picks your club will love to cozy up to this autumn from our sister company Simon & Schuster.

Related: 13 Books You’ll Want To Read Before They Hit The Big Screen

The Marriage of Opposites
By Alice Hoffman

Book Club, Fall Books, Reading

Photo Courtesy of Simon & Schuster

Building on the triumphs of The Dovekeepers and The Museum of Extraordinary Things, this forbidden love story set on a tropical island of almost unimaginably beauty showcases the beloved, bestselling Alice Hoffman at the height of her considerable powers. Once forgotten to history, the story of Rachel—the mother of the great painter Camille Pissarro—is unforgettable and remarkable.

In a Dark, Dark Wood
By Ruth Ware

Book Club, Fall Books, Reading

Photo Courtesy of Simon & Schuster

What should be a cozy and fun-filled weekend deep in the English countryside takes a sinister turn in this suspenseful and darkly twisted psychological thriller. Perfect for fans of The Girl On the Train and Gone Girl, this gripping debut will leave you on the edge of your seat through the very last page.

Who Do You Love
By Jennifer Weiner

Book Club, Fall Books, Reading

Photo Courtesy of Simon & Schuster

Jennifer Weiner, the #1 New York Times bestselling author, returns with this sweeping, modern day fairy tale about chance encounters, first romance and lasting love. In this captivating, witty story, Weiner delivers two of her most memorable characters and a love story you’ll never forget.

A Window Opens
By Elisabeth Egan

Book Club, Fall Book Club, Reading

Photo Courtesy of Simon & Schuster

This heartfelt and painfully funny debut novel from Elisabeth Egan, is about what happens when a wife and mother of three leaps at the chance to fulfill her professional destiny—only to learn every opportunity comes with a price. Fans of Where’d You Go Bernadette will cheer as our heroine realizes the question is not whether it’s possible to have it all, but what does she really want?

The Boston Girl
By Anita Diamant

Book Club, Fall Books, Reading

Photo Courtesy of Simon & Schuster

Anita Diamant’s most beloved novel since her acclaimed, New York Times bestselling classic The Red Tent is now available in paperback! Rich with historical detail and emotional resonance, it’s a fascinating portrait of one woman’s life in the early twentieth century and a generation of women finding their place in a changing world.

Henna House
By Nomi Eve

Book Club, Fall Books, Reading

Photo Courtesy of Simon & Schuster

From the acclaimed author of The Family Orchard comes this evocative and enthralling saga of a young woman living in the little-known community of Yemenite Jews during the mid-twentieth century. Rich, spirited, and sensuous, this is a tale of the dyes that adorn the skin and pierce the heart.

Ruth’s Journey
By Donald McCaig

Book Club, Fall Books, Reading

Photo Courtesy of Simon & Schuster

Set against the backdrop of the South from the 1820s until the dawn of the Civil War, this authorized prequel to Gone with the Wind magnificently recounts Mammy’s story. Hers is a tale of fortitude, heartbreak, and indomitable will that will forever illuminate your reading of Margaret Mitchell’s unforgettable classic.

More From CBS Seattle

Weather
Download The App

Listen Live