SEATTLE (AP) — David Trimble led Davis High of Yakima to its first state basketball title in nearly 50 years. His reward seems fitting for snapping a nearly half-century drought.

Trimble was named The Associated Press Washington boys basketball player of the year on Thursday in voting conducted by sports writers and editors from around the state.

On the girls’ side, Prairie’s Heather Corral was voted the player of the year, edging out Katie Collier from Seattle Christian. Corral and Collier will be teammates next season at Washington.

Trimble was a three-time CBBN player of the year and led the Pirates in scoring and assists. Davis knocked off Central Valley in the Class 4A title game.

Corral led Prairie to the Class 3A state title and joined her sister Ashley as AP state players of the year. Ashley Corral was the state player of the year in 2008 before taking her career to USC.

Both Trimble (Class 4A) and Corral (3A) were voted the players of the year in their respective classifications.

Kansas-bound guard Anrio Adams from Seattle’s Rainier Beach was a near unanimous choice as the Class 3A player of the year, while talented Clover Park sophomore Ahmaad Rorie was voted the 2A player of the year. Rorie averaged 23 points per game and has already given a verbal commitment to California.

In Class 1A, Issac Reimer of Lynden Christian was selected the player of the year. In Class 2B Brandon Gfeller from Colfax and Kwinn Hanson of Northwest Christian of Colbert shared player of the year honors, and Derek Isaak of Almira/Coulee-Hartline was the Class 1B selection.

Collier, who played in the McDonald’s all-American game on Wednesday night, spent most of the season undergoing chemo treatments after being diagnosed with leukemia last September. She was healthy enough to return to the floor and was named the Class 1A player of the year.

Clarkston’s Jamie Weisner was a unanimous section as the Class 2A honoree, while sophomore Brittany McPhee of Mount Rainier was the choice in Class 4A. Kelsey Moos was voted the Class 2B player of the year, while Haley Moser of Colton was the 1B selection.

(© Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Listen Live