SEATTLE, Wash. (1090 The Fan / AP) — The Super Bowl champion Seattle Seahawks were one of six teams with five players selected to the Pro Bowl.

Making the trip to Hawaii in 2015 will be safety Kam Chancellor, running back Marshawn Lynch, safety Earl Thomas, linebacker Bobby Wagner and cornerback Richard Sherman.

However, five is not enough for Sherman.

“It’s kind of frustrating because you sometimes feel like your teammates are getting punished for being on a good team,” Sherman said.

“Your linebackers are getting punished for not having a D-line that allows them to make 130, 140 tackles. Your D-line is being punished because everybody is not going to get 10 sacks or one guy is not going to get 14, 15 sacks — that’s difficult to get on a team like this. You just feel for guys.”

Sherman leads the team with four interceptions and since 2011, his 24 interceptions and 68 passes defensed lead the NFL. Those 24 interceptions rank tied for third (Kenny Easley) in NFL history for the most through a player’s first four seasons in the NFL (Lester Hayes, Everson Walls – 25).

It will be Chancellor’s third Pro Bowl trip in his five seasons, Lynch’s fifth overall, Sherman’s second after being named first-team All-Pro in 2012 and 2013, Thomas’ fourth-consecutive Pro Bowl trip in his five seasons since being the 14th overall selection in the 2010 NFL Draft, and Wagner’s first selection to the annual all-star game.

Lynch continues to be the focal point of the offense as he ranks third in the NFL in rushing yards (1,246), first in non-kicker scoring (96) and leads the league with a career-high 16 total touchdowns this season (career-high tying 12 rush, career-high four rec.).

The Seahawks also have five alternates to the Pro Bowl; defensive end Michael Bennett, kicker Steven Hauschka, tackle Russell Okung, center Max Unger and quarterback Russell Wilson. The player would be named to the team if a selected member of the squad cannot participate.

Under the unconferenced Pro Bowl format, players will be assigned to teams through the Pro Bowl Draft, which will air on NFL Network on Wednesday, January 21, 2015 at 5 p.m. PT.

(TM and © Copyright 2014 CBS Radio Inc. and its relevant subsidiaries. CBS RADIO and EYE Logo TM and Copyright 2014 CBS Broadcasting Inc. Used under license. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)



Comments (2)

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Listen Live